CONTACT: Lisa Meiman, mediarelations@wapa.gov, 720-962-7411

​LAKEWOOD, Colo. – On June 11, Western Area Power Administration submitted a formal request to Southwest Power Pool for reliability coordinator services for two WAPA balancing authorities.

WAPA’s Upper Great Plains West and Western Area Colorado Missouri BAs are evaluating receiving RC services from SPP beginning in early 2020. 

These BAs encompass WAPA’s Pick-Sloan Missouri Basin Program in the Western Interconnection, Loveland Area Projects and Colorado River Storage Project Management Center territories—an area that stretches from eastern Montana, through Wyoming and Colorado, and to the northern part of the Phoenix metro area in Arizona. 

“We are excited about this opportunity and look forward to more detailed negotiations with SPP,” said Administrator and CEO Mark A. Gabriel. “We continue to engage with neighboring utilities and Mountain West Transmission Group participants on the future of energy markets and RC services in the West.” 

There are currently two reliability coordinators in the Western Interconnection: Peak RC and Alberta Electric System Operator. On June 5, SPP announced it has sufficient interest to provide RC services in the Western Interconnection and plans to begin offering those services by the end of 2019. SPP’s provision of services is contingent on SPP becoming certified to be an RC in the Western Interconnection and on meeting other conditions. 

 “As new opportunities arise in this dynamic energy frontier, it is our duty to examine each thoroughly for their implications to our customers and our costs,” said Gabriel. “WAPA will continue to pursue the most beneficial, responsible and reliable courses of action for our customers and the millions of consumers they serve in the West.”


About WAPA: Western Area Power Administration annually markets and transmits more than 25,000 gigawatt-hours of clean, renewable power from 57​ federal hydroelectric powerplants owned and operated by the Bureau of Reclamation, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers and International Boundary and Water Commission in 15 western and central states. It is part of the Department of Energy.

Last modified on September 12th, 2023