Rate Schedule DSW-RS3
Schedule 2 to Tariff
(Supersedes Schedule DSW-RS2)
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY
WESTERN AREA POWER ADMINISTRATION
DESERT SOUTHWEST CUSTOMER SERVICE REGION

REACTIVE SUPPLY AND VOL TAGE NTROIL FROM
ENERATION RCES SERVICE

Effective:

The first day of the first full billing period beginning on or after October 1, 2011, through
September 30, 2016.

Available:

In the area served by the Western Area Lower Colorado (WALC) Balancing Authority (BA).
Applicable:

To all customers in the WALC BA taking transmission service under Western’s Open Access
Transmission Tariff. The customer must purchase this service from WALC, unless the entity has
a separate generation agreement to supply Reactive Supply and Voltage Control from Generation
Sources Service (Voltage Support Service) to WALC.

Character of Service:

Voltage Support Service is needed to maintain transmission voltages on all transmission facilities
within acceptable limits. To accomplish this, generation facilities under the control of the
WALC BA are operated to produce or absorb reactive power.

Formula Rate:

The charges for VVoltage Support Service are based on the following formula rate:
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Voltage Svc Support = Total Annual Revenue Requirement for Service
Rate Load Requiring VAR Support Service

The revenue requirement for the service is the sum of the service for each generation project in
WALC, determined by multiplying the generation revenue requirement by one minus the power
factor for the supplying plants.
The load requiring Voltage Support Service equals long-term firm transmission reservation data
for both P-DP and that portion of Colorado River Storage Project (CRSP) located in WALC, and
subtracts for those reservations by entities with generation agreements to supply VVoltage Support
Service to WALC.
Rate:
The rate to be in effect October 1, 2013, through September 30, 2014, is:

Monthly: $0.046 /kW-month

Weekly: $0.011 /kW-week

Daily: $0.0015 /kW-day

Hourly:  $0.0633 mills/lkWh
This rate is based on the above formula and on FY 2012 financial and load data, and will be
adjusted annually as new data becomes available and will go into effect October 1 of each year.
The Desert Southwest Customer Service Region (DSWR) charges for VVoltage Support Service
may be modified upon written notice to the customer. Any change to the charges for VVoltage
Support Service shall be included in a revision to the rate schedule promulgated under applicable

Federal laws, regulations, and policies and made part of the applicable service agreement.

DSWR shall charge the customer in accordance with the rate then in effect.



