CONTACT: Philip Reed,, 720-962-7063

BISMARCK, N.D. — Fifteen North Dakota high schools will compete in a statewide science and math competition Feb. 6 for the opportunity to represent North Dakota at the Department of Energy’s National Science Bowl this spring.

  • What: North Dakota Regional High School Science Bowl
  • Date: Feb. 6
  • Time: 7:30 a.m.
  • Where: Online
  • Who: Interviews available on request with students, teachers, school staff and WAPA and other volunteers
  • Media queries:

The 30th Annual North Dakota Regional High School Science Bowl, hosted by Western Area Power Administration, will test students’ knowledge of biology, chemistry, Earth science, physics, energy and math in a fast-paced quiz format that requires students to answer questions in as little as five seconds. Each team is made up of four students, a student alternate and a teacher who serves as an advisor and coach.

The winning high school and middle school teams will participate virtually in the national event in April, competing against their peers from across the U.S.

Participating high schools
Bismarck Century High School, winner of the 2020 North Dakota Regional High School Science Bowl, will defend its title against 14 other participating schools, including:

  • Beach High School
  • Bishop Ryan High School
  • Bismarck South Central High School
  • Burke Central High School
  • Carrington High School
  • Century High School
  • Dickinson High School
  • Grand Forks Central High School
  • Grand Forks Red River High School
  • Langdon High School
  • Minot Central Campus High School
  • Minot Magic City Campus High School
  • Trinity High School
  • Velva High School


About the National Science Bowl: The Department of Energy created the National Science Bowl in 1991 to encourage students to excel in math and science as well as pursue careers in these fields. About 315,000 students have participated in the National Science Bowl throughout its 30-year history, and it is one of the nation’s largest science competitions. The Department of Energy’s Office of Science is the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States.

About WAPA: WAPA annually markets and transmits more than 25,000 gigawatt hours of clean, renewable power from 57 federal hydroelectric powerplants owned and operated by the Bureau of Reclamation and the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in 15 western and central states. It is part of the Department of Energy. Follow us on Twitter @WesternAreaPowr or visit the website at​.

Last modified on September 12th, 2023