CONTACT: Philip Reed, mediarelations@wapa.gov, 720-962-7063

BISMARCK, N.D. — Eighteen North Dakota high schools will compete in a statewide science and math competition Feb. 1 for the opportunity to represent North Dakota at the Department of Energy National Science Bowl this spring. 

What: North Dakota Regional High School Science Bowl

Date: Feb. 1

Times: 8:30 a.m.  Round robin, 1 p.m. Double-elimination round, 4 p.m.  Championship round

Where: Gary Tharaldson School of Business at the University of Mary | 7500 University Dr., Bismarck, ND, 58504

Who: Interviews available on request with students, teachers, school staff and WAPA and other volunteers

Admission: Free and open to the public. 

Media check in: Registration desk

The 29th Annual North Dakota Regional High School Science Bowl, hosted by Western Area Power Administration, will test students’ knowledge of biology, chemistry, Earth science, physics, energy and math in a fast-paced quiz format that requires students to answer questions in as little as five seconds. Each team is made up of four students, a student alternate and a teacher who serves as an advisor and coach.

The winning high school and middle school teams will receive a free trip to the national event in Washington, D.C., April 30-May 4 to compete against their peers from across the U.S.

Participating high schools

Minot High School Magic City Campus, winner of the 2019 North Dakota Regional High School Science Bowl, will defend its title against 17 other participating schools, including:

• Beach High School

• Beulah High School

• Bismarck Century High School

• Bismarck High School

• Bismarck South Central High School

• Burke Central High School

• Carrington High School

• Dakota Prairie – Petersburg High School

• Dickinson High School

• Dickinson Trinity High School

• Garrison High School

• Grand Forks Central High School

• Glenburn High School

• Kidder Co High School

• Langdon Area High

• Minot High School Central Campus

• Velva High School 

The public is invited to watch the competition and support the teams. Admission is free. 


About the National Science Bowl: The Department of Energy created the National Science Bowl in 1991 to encourage students to excel in math and science as well as pursue careers in these fields. About 265,000 students have participated in the National Science Bowl throughout its 28-year history, and it is one of the nation’s largest science competitions. The Department of Energy’s Office of Science is the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States.

About WAPA: WAPA annually markets and transmits more than 25,000 gigawatt hours of clean, renewable power from 57 federal hydroelectric powerplants owned and operated by the Bureau of Reclamation and the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in 15 western and central states. It is part of the Department of Energy. Follow us on Twitter @WesternAreaPowr or visit the website at www.wapa.gov​.

Last modified on September 12th, 2023