WAPA » Newsroom » News releases » 2020

South Dakota High Schools Go Head-to-Head in State Science, Math Competition

CONTACT: Philip Reed,, 720-962-7063

HURON, S.D. — Ten South Dakota high schools will compete in a statewide science and math competition Feb. 15 for the opportunity to represent South Dakota at the Department of Energy National Science Bowl this spring. 

              What: South Dakota Regional High School Science Bowl
              Date: Feb. 15
                           9 a.m. Opening ceremony
                           9:20 a.m. Round robin
                           ​1 p.m. Championship round

              Where: Huron Event Center 
                            100 4th Street SW, Huron, SD 57350
              Who: Interviews available on request with students, teachers, school staff and WAPA and other volunteers
              Admission: Free and open to the public
              Media check in: Registration desk

The 27th Annual South Dakota Regional High School Science Bowl, hosted by Western Area Power Administration, will test students’ knowledge of biology, chemistry, Earth science, physics, energy and math in a fast-paced quiz format that requires students to answer questions in as little as five seconds. Each team is made up of four students, a student alternate and a teacher who serves as an advisor and coach. 

The winning team will receive a free trip to the national event in Washington, D.C., April 30-May 4 to compete against their peers from across the U.S.
Participating high schools
Rapid City Stevens, winner of the 2019 South Dakota Regional High School Science Bowl, will defend its title against nine other participating schools:
Brookings High School
Aberdeen Central High School
Deuel High School
Hitchcock-Tulare High School
Huron High School
Little Wound High School
Rapid City Central
Redfield High School
West Central High School

The public is invited to watch the competition and support the teams. Admission is free. 


About the National Science Bowl: The Department of Energy created the National Science Bowl in 1991 to encourage students to excel in math and science as well as pursue careers in these fields. About 265,000 students have participated in the National Science Bowl throughout its 28-year history, and it is one of the nation’s largest science competitions. The Department of Energy's Office of Science is the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States.

About WAPA: WAPA annually markets and transmits more than 25,000 gigawatt hours of clean, renewable power from 57 federal hydroelectric powerplants owned and operated by the Bureau of Reclamation and the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in 15 western and central states. It is part of the Department of Energy. Follow us on Twitter @WesternAreaPowr or visit the website at www.wap​​.

Page Last Updated: 2/12/2020 1:43 PM