2017 North Dakota Regional High School Science Bowl coming Feb. 4

CONTACT: Travis Weger, weger@wapa.gov, 720.962.7063

BISMARCK, N.D.—With the nation's focus on energy independence and sustainability, it is important to promote the benefits of science and math among high school youth. Western Area Power Administration is doing just that by hosting the North Dakota Regional High School Science Bowl, a math and science competition for high school students, Feb. 4 at the University of Mary, Gary Tharaldson School of Business, 7500 University Dr., in Bismarck, beginning at 8 a.m.

Students representing 24 schools from throughout North Dakota will test their knowledge of science and vie for first place and a free trip to the National Science Bowl in Washington, D.C., held April 27 - May 1. The regional and national events encourage student involvement in math and science, improve awareness of career options in science and technology and provide an avenue of enrichment and reward for academic science achievement.

Participating schools:

  • Bowbells High School
  • Fargo South High School
  • LaMoure High School
  • Beulah High School
  • Grand Forks Red River
  • Glenburn High School
  • Bismarck Century High
  • Beach High School
  • Max High School
  • Kidder Co Tappen
  • Linton High School
  • Bismarck South Central High School
  • Carrington High School
  • Hillsboro High School
  • Minot High School Magic City
  • Minot High Central Campus
  • Grand Forks Central High School
  • Wing High School
  • Bismarck High School
  • Williston High School
  • Bismarck St Mary Central High School
  • Langdon High School
  • KC-Steele High School

The 26th Annual North Dakota Regional High School Science Bowl is sponsored by WAPA. The public is invited to watch the competition and support the teams. Admission is free. The fast-paced quiz format of the competition will challenge the students' knowledge of biology, chemistry, Earth science, physics, energy and math.

About the National Science Bowl: The Department of Energy created the National Science Bowl in 1991 to encourage students to excel in math and science and to pursue careers in these fields. About 265,000 students have participated in the National Science Bowl throughout its 26-year history, and it is one of the nation's largest science competitions. The Department of Energy's Office of Science is the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States.


Media advisory: Competition begins at 8 a.m. in a round-robin format, followed by a double-elimination tournament at 1 p.m. with the championship round set for about 4 p.m. The awards ceremony will follow immediately. Interviews with competing teams and their coaches will be available throughout the day. Media representatives are asked to check in at the registration desk.


About WAPA: Western Area Power Administration annually markets and transmits more than 25,000 gigawatt hours of clean, renewable power from 56 federal hydroelectric powerplants owned and operated by the Bureau of Reclamation and the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in 15 western and central states. It is part of the Department of Energy. Follow us on Twitter @WesternAreaPowr or visit the website at www.wapa.gov