CONTACT: Lisa Meiman,, 720-962-7411​

BILLINGS, Mont. — Western Area Power Administration is hosting the 22nd annual Big Sky Regional Science Bowl, a math and science competition for middle and high school students, March 9 and 10, at the Montana State University-Billings in the Student Union Building, 1500 University Drive, in Billings. 

The middle school competition will be held Friday, and the high school competition will be held Saturday. Both events start at 8 a.m. 

The fast-paced quiz format of the competition will challenge the students’ knowledge of biology, chemistry, Earth science, physics, energy and math. After a morning round-robin format, there will be a double-elimination round at 1 p.m. The championship round is set for about 4 p.m. 

The winners of each competition will be rewarded with a free trip to the National Science Bowl competition in Washington, D.C., April 26-30, where they will vie for the national title. 

National Science Bowl events encourage student involvement in math and science, inspire the next generation to pursue careers in science, technology, engineering and math fields, and reward superior academic achievement. 

The public is invited to watch the competition and support the teams. Admission is free. 

Montana Middle School competition March 9
On March 9, 18 middle school teams from 11 schools across Montana vie for first place in the middle school competition, including teams from: 

  • Absarokee
  • Castle Rock (Billings)
  • Huntley Project
  • Luther
  • Nashua
  • North Middle (Great Falls)
  • Park City
  • Poplar
  • Shepherd
  • Saint Francis (Billings)
  • West Yellowstone​

Montana high schools contend March 10
The following day, Helena High School, winner of the 2018 Big Sky Science Bowl, will defend its title against 26 teams of high school students from 17 schools throughout Montana, including:

  • Absarokee High School
  • Billings Central Catholic High School
  • Billings Senior High School
  • Billings Skyview High School
  • Billings West High School
  • Custer County District High School
  • Dawson County High School
  • Fairfield High School
  • Fergus High School
  • Havre High School
  • Helena High School
  • Nashua High School
  • Park City High School
  • Plentywood High School
  • Poplar High School
  • White Sulphur Springs High School
  • West Yellowstone High School​

About the National Science Bowl: The Department of Energy (DOE) created the National Science Bowl in 1991 to encourage students to excel in mathematics and science and to pursue careers in these fields. More than 275,000 students have participated in the National Science Bowl® throughout its 27-year history, and it is one of the nation’s largest science competitions.


MEDIA ADVISORY: Competition begins at 8 a.m. in a round-robin format, followed by a double-elimination tournament at 1 p.m. with the championship round set for about 4 p.m. The awards ceremony will follow immediately. Interviews with competing teams and their coaches will be available throughout the day. Media representatives are asked to check in at Science Bowl Central, the events registration desk and coordination center. 


About WAPA: Western Area Power Administration annually markets and transmits more than 25,000 gigawatt hours of clean, renewable power from 57​ federal hydroelectric powerplants owned and operated by the Bureau of Reclamation and the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in 15 western and central states. It is part of the Department of Energy.

Last modified on September 12th, 2023