
Rate Schedule L-UU1 
SCHEDULE 10 to Tariff 
October 1, 2011 
 

1 
 

 
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY 
WESTERN AREA POWER ADMINISTRATION 

ROCKY MOUNTAIN REGION 
Loveland Area Projects 

 
UNRESERVED USE PENALTIES 

Applicable 

 The Transmission Customer shall compensate the Loveland Area Projects (LAP) each 

month for any unreserved use of the transmission system (Unreserved Use) under the applicable 

transmission service rates as outlined herein.  Unreserved Use occurs when an eligible customer 

uses transmission service that it has not reserved or a Transmission Customer uses transmission 

service in excess of its reserved capacity.  Unreserved Use may also include a Customer’s failure 

to curtail transmission when requested.   

Penalty Rate 

The penalty rate for a Transmission Customer that engages in Unreserved Use is  

200 percent of LAP’s approved rate for firm point-to-point transmission service assessed as 

follows:  the Unreserved Use Penalty for a single hour of Unreserved Use is based upon the rate 

for daily firm point-to-point service.  The Unreserved Use Penalty for more than one assessment 

for a given duration (e.g., daily) increases to the next longest duration (e.g., weekly).  The 

Unreserved Use Penalty for multiple instances of Unreserved Use (e.g., more than one hour) 

within a day is based on the rate for daily firm point-to-point service.  The Unreserved Use 

Penalty for multiple instances of Unreserved Use isolated to one calendar week is based on the 

rate for weekly firm point-to-point service.  The Unreserved Use Penalty for multiple instances 
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of Unreserved Use during more than one week in a calendar month is based on the rate for 

monthly firm point-to-point service.  

A Transmission Customer that exceeds its firm reserved capacity at any point of receipt 

or point of delivery, or an eligible customer that uses transmission service at a point of receipt or 

point of delivery that it has not reserved, is required to pay for all ancillary services that were 

provided by the Western Area Colorado Missouri Balancing Authority and associated with the 

Unreserved Use.  The Customer will pay for ancillary services based on the amount of 

transmission service it used and did not reserve.  

Effective 

 The first day of the first full billing period beginning on or after October 1, 2011, through 

September 30, 2016. 

Rate  

 The rate for Unreserved Use Penalties is 200 percent of LAP’s approved rate for firm 

point-to-point transmission service assessed as described above.   

 Any change to the rate for Unreserved Use Penalties will be listed in a revision to this 

rate schedule issued under applicable Federal laws, regulations, and policies and made part of the 

applicable service agreement.   

 

 

 


